One Question ?

Call us on +33 2 97 847 800

groix

L'Ile de Groix

The island of Groix is unique evidence of the geological wealth of Brittany and is one of Europe's protected natural areas: "Natura 2000". The rocky coast bathed by clear water is punctuated by beautiful beaches and wild creeks where the fine sand goes from the brilliant white of its mica to the dark reds of garnet.

Ready to climb on-board? Embark for a 50-minute cruise to the island of Groix, and its 2300 inhabitants at latitude 45°637 north and longitude 3°462 west. It is an idea size for walking and cycling: 8 km by 4 km. To the south: its beaches - To the north: a wild coastline.

Now you have set foot on Groix you can discover the multiple facets of this "little piece of land".

  • Its megaliths, fountains and washhouses and the stories that go with them
  • Its villages nestling in moorland
  • Its town with a variety of shops and restaurants
  • Its church topped with a curious belfry
  • Its nature reserve and ecomuseum
  • Its lighthouses...
  • Its activities: walking, fishing, sailing school, diving school, horse-rising, Parcabout 

To find your way around, look at the stones, they will speak to you. Don't look for traffic lights, there aren't any.

You will love: the fresh air, walking, cycling, running, swimming, fishing, relaxing, but also learning and listening to its rich and varied heritage, its human size, and quality of island life... May you find all that you are looking for and more...

visitor

For the visitor freshly arrived on the shores of Groix, this island is a source of magic that will stay with you for a long time. A mineralogical treasure birthed by an extremely rare geological phenomenon, this 1500-hectare rock incrusted with villages offers a wide diversity of landscapes.

Port Tudy

Port Tudy is not just a charming Breton port. It is a vital link with the mainland, rhythmed by the arrival of the post. The walk up to the town offers a view of the houses of the shipbuilders and the family cinema with a facade decorated by Italian craftsmen. In the morning, the market sells a selection of island produce from the land and the sea. There are plenty of shops to be discovered wandering through the cleanly fronted streets. They are arranged around the church whose belfry is topped with the famous tuna, symbol of an era when tuning fishing left profound marks. The town's ecomuseum is full of information about this maritime era.

See shops.

by bike

A bicycle is the perfect way to visit the island with 40 km of special tracks. There is also a taxi offering tours of the island. Thus you can discover the island at your own pace, the heather-filled moors of the Piwisy coast (west of the island), and the white or red sandy beaches of Primeture (east of the island). Megaliths, fountains and washhouses are all there to be discovered by the walker. A fragile land, Groix is subject to a management plan that seeks to find a balance between economic, tourist and farming activities and the preservation of its huge and remarkable natural reserves. Visit the nature reserves of Pen Men and the Pointe des Chats for an infinite source of wonder.

Its 2323 inhabitants make Groix a lively and convivial place, not a sanctuary turned to the past. The island is a treasure which its 2353 inhabitants share generously.

You have to get a little lost to ask an inhabitant the way, for another more human adventure to begin. Islands are always popular, and Groix is well worth a detour. To those who respect it, it offers an authentic and lasting impression.

Your are looking for a shop or a service ?

Réserver avec l'Office
de Tourisme
Une question ?

appelez-nous au 02 97 847 800

groix

L'Ile de Groix

L'île de Groix est un témoin unique de la richesse géologique de la Bretagne et fait partie du réseau européen d'espaces naturels protégés : "Natura 2000". Le littoral rocheux baigné d'eaux limpides est ponctué de belles plages et de criques sauvages dont le sable toujours fin se pare de nuances allant du blanc brillant du mica au rouge foncé du grenat.

Prêt à prendre le bateau ? Alors embarquez pour une traversée de 50 minutes direction   l' ILE de GROIX, ses 2300 groisillons vous accueillent, sa latitude 45°637 nord sa longitude 3°462 ouest. Ses dimensions de rêve pour la marche, le vélo : 8 kms sur 4 kms. Côté sud : ses plages - Côté nord : sa côte sauvage.

Ca y est vous avez le pied sur Groix, vous allez pouvoir découvrir les multiples facettes de ce "petit bout de terre" :

  • Ses monuments mégalithiques, ses fontaines et lavoirs et leurs anecdotes
  • Ses villages et hameaux nichés dans la lande
  • Son bourg avec ses commerces variés et ses restaurants
  • Son église coiffée d'un curieux clocher
  • Sa réserve naturelle et son écomusée
  • Ses phares...
  • Ses activités : randonnées, pêche à pied, école de voile, école de plongée, centre équestre, Parcabout

  •  

Pour trouver votre chemin, regardez les pierres, elles vous parleront. Ne cherchez pas de feux tricolores, ils ne sont pas encore arrivés chez nous.


Vous aimez : respirer le grand air, marcher, pédaler, courir, nager, pêcher, lézarder, mais aussi apprendre, écouter, alors c'est grâce à son patrimoine riche et varié, son espace à taille humaine, sa qualité de vie, sa douceur de vivre... Que vous trouverez ce que vous êtes venu chercher, et plus si...

visiteur

Pour le visiteur qui vient accoster ses rives, la découverte de l'île de Groix est source d'une magie qui ne peut laisser indifférent. Trésor minéralogique né d'un caprice géologique d'une extrême rareté sur la planète, ce caillou de 1500 hectares, incrusté de villages offre une grande diversité de paysages.

Port Tudy

Port Tudy n'est pas seulement un port au charme breton, il est le lien vital avec le continent, ses activités sont rythmées par l'arrivée des courriers. La montée vers le bourg offre aux regards ses belles maisons d'armateurs et le cinéma des familles, aux façades décorées par des artisans italiens. Le matin, les halles offrent à notre gourmandise les produits insulaires de la terre comme de la mer. De nombreux commerces sont à découvrir en flânant dans les rues aux façades pimpantes. Ces dernières rayonnent autour de l'église dont le clocher s'orne du fameux thon, symbole de toute une époque où la pêche thonière a laissé des marques profondes. L'écomusée municipal est une mine inépuisable de connaissances sur cette épopée maritime.

Voir les commerces.

à vélo

Le vélo est le véhicule parfait sur l'île où 40 km de chemins lui sont dédiés. Un taxi propose aussi des tours de l'île. On peut ainsi découvrir à son rythme les landes à bruyère vagabonde des littoraux de Piwisi (Ouest de l'île) ou les plages blanches et rouges de grenats de Primiture (Est de l'île). Mégalithes, fontaines et lavoirs donnent aux promeneurs cent occasions de découverte. Territoire fragile, Groix fait l'objet d'un plan de gestion qui cherche un équilibre entre les activités économiques, touristiques, agricoles, et la préservation de ses vastes espaces naturels remarquables. Visiter les réserves naturelles de Pen Men et de la pointe des Chats est une source infinie d'émerveillement.

Ses 2323 habitants à l'année font de Groix un lieu de vie et de convivialité, à l'opposé d'un sanctuaire tourné vers le passé. Si l'île est un trésor, ses habitants n'hésitent pas à le partager généreusement.

Il faut savoir s'égarer un peu pour demander son chemin aux Groisillons, une autre aventure, humaine celle-là, peut alors commencer. Si la "possibilité d'une île" attire, Groix mérite plus qu'un détour. Avec celui qui la respecte, elle saura tisser un lien authentique et durable.

Vous recherchez un commerce ou un service ?